Ecclesiastical Insurance Cornerstone Awards

2021 Winners Circle Session at the National Trust Conference

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2021 Ecclesiastical Insurance Cornerstone Awards

Meet the recipients:

Transformative Projects
• Hodge Premises (Twillingate, NL)
• Holy Blossom Temple (Toronto, ON)
• The Bombardier Centre for Aerospace and Aviation (Toronto, ON)
• Queen Elizabeth II Planetarium (Edmonton, AB)
• The Shipyards (North Vancouver, BC)
• Wanuskewin Heritage Park (Saskatoon, SK)

Resilient Historic Places
• The Green Family Forge (Trinity, NL)
• St. John Evangelist Anglican Church (Prescott, ON)

Thank you to the members of the jury:
Erik Hanson, Heritage Resources Coordinator, City of Peterborough;
Laura Saimoto, Board member, Vancouver Heritage Foundation; and
Deeter Schurig, President & CEO, cSPACE Projects.

The Ecclesiastical Insurance Cornerstone Awards bring national attention to exemplary projects and places that contribute to quality of life and sense of place, and illustrate the viability of heritage buildings and sites for traditional or new uses.The awards are presented in two categories, with the potential for up to six (6) awards in each category:

A. Transformative Projects Projects completed between 2017 and 2020 that have creatively renewed or transformed historic places or landscapes for new or traditional uses; and

B. Resilient Places Historic places or landscapes that illustrate extraordinary resilience, significance, and benefit to a community over a sustained period of time, with a successful track record of 10 years or more. Special consideration will be given to places that are demonstrating innovation and resilience in responding to the impacts of COVID-19.

Special consideration will be given to places and projects that reflect one or more of the following principles:

  • The involvement of youth;
  • Social innovation or enterprise;
  • Environmental benefits;
  • Cultural diversity.

Eligibility Criteria

There are no restrictions on ownership type, use, or size. Nominations may be submitted by individuals or organizations, architects, developers, designers, builders or owners, government officials, or anyone who believes the project or place deserves national recognition. Self-nominations are welcomed.

Award and Presentation

Recipients will be recognized at a reception during the National Trust Conference. People and organizations associated with winning projects and places will be invited to participate in the Winners Circle Session at the National Trust Conference, where they will have the chance to showcase their award-winning projects to Conference delegates.

The award recognizes the property owner and project team and consists of one framed certificate. Additional (unframed) copies of the certificate are available upon request.

Stay in touch. Get our newsletter.

Thank you to our Sponsor, Ecclesiastical Insurance Office plc.

Watch the video below to learn more about our Cornerstone Awards sponsor.