Prix du XXe siecle

The National Trust for Canada and the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) are pleased to announce the 2020 recipients of the Prix du XXe siècle. Congratulations to:

The Niagara Parks Commission’s Butterfly Conservatory

Award of Excellence

Humber River Bicycle and Pedestrian Bridge

Certificate of Merit

Learn more

Terms of Reference

1. Purpose of the Award

The National Trust for Canada and the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) wish to promote public awareness of significant Canadian architecture of the recent past.

The Prix du XXe Siècle recognizes buildings over 25 years old that have become landmarks of Canadian architecture. The prize celebrates design quality as well as enduring excellence, recognizing the design of the original architect and/or firm as well as the on-going stewardship of the owner of the building.

Submissions will be judged on the following:

  • the building has national significance;
  • the building remains an enduring work of architecture;
  • the qualities of the building may reflect: conceptual originality; technical advancement; innovation of its time; and/or symbolic significance;
  • the features of the work have not been substantially altered since its construction;
  • the building has been preserved over time through sensitive stewardship of its original qualities.

2. Eligibility

  • An existing building that is over 25 years old;
  • A person may nominate one building per year;
  • Previous unsuccessful submissions will be automatically considered for a maximum of two consecutive years. Nominators may submit additional information to strengthen the submission.

3. Submission Materials

Submissions will be completed using the NEW online submission platform.

Submissions must be received before 12 a.m. EST, Friday, January 24, 2020. Entrants are solely responsible for timely submissions. This date and time are firm without exceptions.

  1. A completed nomination form;
  2. A written statement, which explains why the building deserves this award. The statement shall be three pages or less;
  3. A current day photo of the building, in jpeg format is required;
  4. Visual evidence such as photos of the present state of the building interiors to support an assessment of the stewardship aspect of the award;
  5. Maximum of 10 images per submission, five of which must have been taken in the last five years;
  6. Additional images that allow comparison between “then” and “now” are encouraged and permitted;
  7. A minimum of two high resolution images in jpeg format are required;
  8. List of significant interventions to the building should be noted and explained in terms of the original design intent and realization;
  9. A site plan (optional);
  10. Useful supporting materials such as articles and list of awards are encouraged; and
  11. Key list of images.

Entries can be submitted either in English or in French.

All winning entries will be retained by the RAIC for publication, exhibition and archival purposes. Unsuccessful entries will not be returned.

Note: Once you have started the online submission process, you may ‘save’ and come back at a later date to complete your submission (prior to the submission deadline).


4. Jury Selection Process

The National Committee of the College of Fellows in consultation with the National Trust for Canada shall appoint a Jury of three to five members each year which will be composed of distinguished scholars or educators, and other distinguished members of the profession. Prior to the jury meeting, the College of Fellows Regional Chairs will be asked, where possible, to visit the nominated buildings.

Jury Information

  • The RAIC Office will prepare an information package for the Jury members;
  • The information will be sent in advance of the meeting;
  • Jury members will be required to acknowledge and accept the terms of reference.

Jury Deliberations

  • The Jury shall discuss the various nominees via one or more teleconferences organized by the Chair with the assistance of the RAIC Office. By consensus, the Jury shall identify two buildings for award of the Prix du XXe siècle;
  • Confidentiality (process & results): Jury members will be required to sign a confidentiality agreement;
  • Conflict of interest: Jury members will be required to sign a conflict of interest declaration.

The Jury shall forward its decision to the RAIC Board of Directors. The President of the RAIC shall bestow the award.

5. Number of Awards

A maximum of two awards will be conferred. At its discretion, the jury may elect not to confer an award. The award shall be a wall plaque or desktop plaque, with the RAIC emblem and inscribed:


The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada
and the National Trust for Canada
(name of building)
for its enduring excellence and
national significance
to Canadian Architecture.

(insert name of architect(s))


6. Frequency

The award is to be offered every year.

7. Public Presentation

The presentation will be at the RAIC Festival of Architecture or other suitable ceremony. The National Trust for Canada may send a representative to present the award jointly with RAIC.

8. Commemorative Plaque

Subject to the owner’s discretion, RAIC and the National Trust for Canada will provide a commemorative wall plaque or desktop plaque.

9. Joint Publicity

RAIC and the National Trust for Canada will collaborate on a promotion and communications strategy around the call for nominations, announcing the award winner(s) and reporting on the presentation.

The Prix du XXe siècle is presented jointly by the National Trust for Canada and The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada.

For more information
Telephone: (613) 241-3600 ext. 215

Learn more about the National Trust Awards:

Prince of Wales Prize

Ecclesiastical Insurance Cornerstone Awards

Questions? Contact us at:

1-866-964-1066 ext. 230 or

Stay in touch. Get our newsletter.