The Colonial Building was built between 1846 and 1850 as Newfoundland’s legislature. A gem of neoclassical architecture, the building’s grandeur is a testament to the optimism its builders felt about Newfoundland’s future. The building was witness to events that still resonate as integral to Newfoundland and Labrador’s identity: gaining Responsible Government in 1855, the Riots of 1932 when Prime Minister Sir Richard Squires had to hide from an angry mob outside, and the National Convention of 1946. It was in these chambers that Joey Smallwood and others argued for Confederation with Canada. After Confederation in 1949, the Colonial Building was the seat of the Provincial Legislature until the Confederation Building opened in 1959. A new experience of the Colonial Building will bring to life the people and political events that still resonate in Newfoundland and Labrador today.
90 Military Road
St. John’s, NL A1C 2E1
Provincial Historic Sites – Newfoundland and Labrador
Enjoy FREE admission at this historic place with your National Trust membership. Become a member today!